False Pregnancy

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

macksmom98

Reaction score
Our pair of Holland Lops were together about 14 days ago. I don't think they mated correctly, and she is a first timer at 1 yr 3 no old. He is new to us-I put them together the day after we picked him up. He's 4 and was interested in breeding right away, as soon as I put her in his cage. Since the couple of times they tried to mate I have put them together several times and they want nothing to do with each other. I am treating her as pregnant just in case, and have not had any luck feeling anything when try to palpitate her (I am new to that as well), and I am really suspecting a false pregnancy if anything-I am guessing that the cause of them being uninterested in mating as she's sending signals that she's pregnant even if it's false. Does anyone have experience after a false pregnancy? Will they just naturally become interested in trying to breed again?

Interest in breeding is not really a reliable indicator as to pregnancy. I've read that SOME bucks 'can tell' and won't attempt to mate with a pregnant doe, but in my understanding, generally speaking, rabbits will often continue to mate throughout a pregnancy if left to their own devices. The only way to tell if your doe is pregnant is to wait until you can either definitely feel kits moving around or she has a litter. Be sure to provide her with a nest box at the appropriate time, just in case. Good luck!

Yes getting all set for her to have babies just on case......I just can't figure out with all I have read what else could cause them to loose interest in mating like they have....thank you for your opinion and response:)