Extreme Egg Bound Hen

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fire-Man

Reaction score
There is another post about Double Yolk Eggs and problems causing it--- I thought I would add this one.

Have any of you ever had a Extreme Egg Bound Hen? I just put one down because I felt she was Egg bound and I opened her. If some of you want to be educated on this I have some Gross pictures of My Extreme Egg Bound Hen!

We are always looking for educational material, Fire-Man! Just note "GRAPHIC" in the thread title.

Please include what made you suspect this condition. :) I am very new to chickens, and I'm sure I'm not the only one.

I'm also curious what made you suspect this. My chickens are very aloof and I'm not sure I'd notice much was up unless it was very obvious.

With parrots if they get egg bound you must hit them with high humidy, very, very high. I used to set all 6 burners on my stove with boiling water full blast to increase humidy quickly. I'd move a smaller cage into the kitchen near the stove. Worked everytime, never lost a parrot to being eggbound.

Not sure if it works for chickens but it may help for next time.

Do Not Open These Links Unless You can Handle EXTREME GRAPHIC Pictures-----For educational purposes!!