Equine Thrush

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HowlsOfAngels

Reaction score
If you've ever had to deal with it then you know this stuff is nasty. It's a bacteria that penetrates a horses frog (the triangular cushion on the bottom of their hoof) and causes it to slowly rot and slough off. It smells god awful and can cause lameness, plus, there is no tried and true cure that will work for every horse.

My horses, after going through several drenching rains, developed this infection of the frog and I've been battling with it for the last two months or so before I finally found a solution. At first I used several bottles of straight hospital grade iodine, I thought that cleared it up, but it came back with a vengeance a few weeks later. When I researched its use further I found that in some cases it works like a charm and in others it will appear to work and then make it ten times worse.

So, a few days ago I got a gallon of vinegar and started using a diluted solution on their hooves after they'd been thoroughly picked clean and after I'd clipped off all the rotted frog with a pair of wire cutters (horse frog is some thick stuff, it dulled a pair of scissors mighty quickly). It only took three days for the thrush to clear and the hooves to start drying out, so I applied some Corona Ointment the other night and I'm already starting to see some regrowth.

I just thought I'd share this in case another member runs into this issue with their horse and needs some guidance. And I'm sure some non horse savvy members might be interested as well.