English Spot

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Damani

Reaction score
Hello I'm new to rabbit breeding for food and fur. I am waiting for Molly the Fawn Flemish Giant to grow up so I can breed her. I wanted to breed her to a good meat rabbit, like a Californian or a New Zealand, to get faster growing large rabbits for pelts and food.

I have a Californian buck, the one pictured.

I also have a 'satin' doe, that unbeknownst to me, was pregnant at 3 1/2 months and gave birth to 10 kits on August 12. I have no idea who the sire was. See the pic of her and her first litter.

I bred her to a younger Californian buck (see pic)and last Tuesday she gave 10 more kits. 3 of them are the classic English Spot coloration, but they are too young to determine the body conformation. They are all the same size.

I just butchered the last four rabbits from her first litter, all bucks, 1 pure white, was the heaviest at 3 1/2 months: 5 lbs. but the others were 4 lbs. or smaller. 2 were Himalayan markings (grey and black) and the other was one of two solid grey rabbits. The fur was uniformly long and silky--not very dense. The buck who sired this brood had nice longish fur, and had to be butchered because he broke his back.

Obviously, the Satin is a mutt, she came to me as very pale fawn color, and now is getting a greyish coat emerging in a strange pattern. My question is, would it be a waste of resources to try to breed the English Spot to the Flemish Giant?

I also have a breeding pair of Rex's which I want for the fur. I prefer solid colors and will be looking for ways to dye the fur, elsewhere. Whether I get spots or solids out of the Flemish Giant, I also thought of the temperament as pets. I've sold the balance of the first litter as pets and one to a breeder. :all-ears:

Welcome to the forum

Unfortunately your pics did not show up.