Confused about grain

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello!

I just got my first rabbits yesterday, so I'm studying up on bunny food, and I'm really confused about grain. I'm planning to feed free choice grass hay, LOTS of garden scraps, alfalfa pellets, and BOSS as a tonic "as needed." I've noticed that commercial feeds and most feeding programs here on the site add grain of some kind; usually oats, sometimes barley or wheat. Why?

What is it meant to accomplish? Does it fatten or bulk them up it better than BOSS? Do they need the carbohydrates? I thought the 15% protein in the alfalfa pellets was about right for them... Also, does the high fiber content in oats have anything to do with why people prefer them?

Grain is pretty expensive around here, so if I buy some I definitely want to know why and why a particular grain over others. Around here, corn and barley are a dollar cheaper than oats, and wheat is a dollar cheaper than that. Alfalfa pellets are yet another dollar cheaper than oats.

Any advice or input would be wonderful! FF.

I feed a natural diet of free choice alfalfa hay, a bit of grain and as many greens (see the Safe Plants List - link below) as the season allows. In winter I feed smaller amounts of fresh foods, but they get limited amounts of root crops, pumpkin, cabbage (go easy with this one!) and vegetable trimmings. I also grow wheat grass/fodder for them. (See link below.)