Concern or Smooth Cecotrop

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AShelBunny

Reaction score
Here's the bunny and the poop.

no symptoms or concerns but saw this this morning.

I'm a newb. Freaking out about every little thing

Attachments

• IMG_2024-02-17-12-16-55-454.jpg
    IMG_2024-02-17-12-16-55-454.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2024-02-17-12-16-35-167.jpg
    IMG_2024-02-17-12-16-35-167.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2024-02-17-12-16-31-357.jpg
    IMG_2024-02-17-12-16-31-357.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2024-02-17-12-16-13-118.jpg
    IMG_2024-02-17-12-16-13-118.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 0
Right there with you, every time I find something else to freak out about it's like oh my God why did I even start with rabbits? I thought quail were bad!

I find those periodically, it looks like it just got stepped on, AFAIK coecotropes look more like a little group of poop grapes, smaller, very soft and sticky. This looks formed then squished, or just a bit soft. If I find anything questionable I pull out the poop tray to examine for normal poop and also anything that looks like mucous or diarrhea.

I'm hoping somebody else who is a pro will weigh in!

soft poop that is squished in my rabbitry means one of the following, not in any order of importance

1. nothing, just a squished poop
2. doe ready to breed
3. doe on kits about three weeks along when hormones are rising again
4. doe about to have kits

Some does are more prone to them than others.

a soft poop from a buck generally means I take it more seriously. It's often a sign then of an impending gastric attack.

Not a worry if everything else is fine. Some bunnies will stop eating cecotropes if you feed too many pellets. I think it's a matter of getting enough vitamins the first digestion, and therefore refusing to eat them when pellets are tastier. I've got one doe that makes a habit of it.