Breeding Questions

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Seeker

Reaction score
Last month I tried mating my champagne D'Argent rabbits. (I'm new at this.)

1.) A month ago, I put the Doe in the Bucks cage and not much happened. The next day I tried again. It started off the same way, a little chasing and licking followed by nothing. Then a huge chase with some fur flying and he tried to hump her in the face, on her side, then he seemed to mount her. He looked like he mounted her many times and I thought she was pregnant.
The following week, I put my other Doe in there and it was a two day repeat of the week before. One month later... Nothing.

2.) Today, I put the first one in and just like the month before, a little chase and licking followed by nothing.

3.) I took my NZ Red Doe and put her in my NZ Red Bucks cage and the same thing happened... Nothing.

Is this usual? What am I doing wrong? I am worried about the First buck being sterile now but is it possible he's just inexperienced? :x

Thanks...

Some bucks never get it right but if it happened with two different bucks the doe just wasn't ready. If your setup allows put the buck and doe cages as close as possible. He will start spraying like mad and the smell may get her in the mood. That's what spraying is all about. He's advertising. Watch the doe and see if she starts showing a lot of interest in him like scratching at the cage in his direction. Put her in when she seems in the mood. I find that early morning, before full daylight if possible, is a good time to try. Rabbits are most active in the period between full dark and full daylight (The twilight zone if you will)