Best gauge wire to build cages with

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Legacy Lane

Reaction score
I am a totally newbie when it comes to building cages, I always bought used, but I can't find any so I am looking at building.. Is 14 gauge wire strong enough?
Also I am thinking about making a cage with a bottom made out of regular field fencing to use as a tractor during the warm months for my buck. The larger holes would allow for good grazing, I know it wouldn't be strong enough to hang/stack ect, but that's not what I want it for so do you think it would work ?

Any advise I would love, thanks :)!

Here's a site you need to add to your favorites. LOL.

www.klubertanz.com.

They'll have anything you could possibly imagine for rabbits.

YES!!! 14 gauge wire is excellent.........but very expensive.
For bottoms of the cages, if you can afford it, go with 14 Gauge
Galvanized AFTER Welding. That's some tough stuff and will last
for years.

I believe most of the side and top wire is 14 gauge as well.
But you could probably "sneak" by with GBW. Baby-Saver wire
costs only a few dollars more than standard 1X2 but will pay
for itself in saved youngsters. I'd definitely go with that.

Buy a good pair of J-clip pliers. Not the heapy-cheapy kind.
Get the heavier J-clips as well. A top-of-the-line pair of wire
cutters is a must. PLAN on your hands feeling like they've been'
beat with a ball-bat!!

Good luck, be patient, measure TWICE.....cut once.

grumpy.

:yeahthat:

14 gauge is awesome, and Klubertanz GAW floor wire is a dream, it's so heavy and stiff! I'm about to order wire from them myself. :)

He's not kidding about the pliers, cutters, and clips. Get only the good stuff.