Adding another breed?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oscar

Reaction score
Ok so I'm new in the whole rabbit thing, and I have a Rex doe and a Mini lop buck,I would like to add another breed into my "rabbittry" so any recommendations on what breed I should get? Is any breed better at breeding than the other? <br /><br /> -- Fri Dec 04, 2015 8:19 pm -- <br /><br /> I have broken but I would like to add some fawn in there.

What are your goals for your rabbitry? (I take it you've got a standard Rex and not a mini.)

Are you breeding to eat? And pretty colors?
Are you breeding to show?
Are you breeding for the pet market?

If you're breeding to eat, you'll want to get into the commercial types, that have the better meat to bone ratios; Californians, New Zealands, Florida Whites.
However, if what you've got is what you got and nothing promising is coming up locally, then save a buck from your first litter and grow him. Breed him back to his Rex mother. That way the resultant offspring is 3/4 Rex and only 1/4 lop. That way future generations get bigger from your 1st generation buck instead of smaller from the Founding buck.

I'm breeding more for show and fur, but could also be a pet, knowing my dad we will probably eat them too unless for if they are nasty tasting. I want something that comes in a variety of colors and has a good temperament and is a good parent and an easy breeder but also hardy and easy to find. Is there anything like that? :oops:

"I want something that comes in a variety of colors and has a good temperament and is a good parent and an easy breeder but also hardy and easy to find. Is there anything like that?"