"Best" wool rabbit?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Frecs

Reaction score
I know that is a silly question because everyone has a different "best" rabbit for them.

My need for fiber has gotten stirred and so I'm exploring the idea of adding a fiber side to my rabbitry. My main rabbitry focus is meat (Silver Foxes) and though it looked for a short time like I'd gotten bitten by the show bug, that passed like a bad flu. So, what I think I want in a fiber rabbit is: good spinnable wool (not too difficult as I'm basically a rookie, drop spindle spinner), meat rabbit potential for the culls, and very friendly rabbit (I don't want to fight with a rabbit to groom it multiple days a week).

I saw a lady (Charlotte NC) advertising for English/German crosses but she wants $75 per...that is more than I would want to spend on non-show rabbits. There is possibly another lady closer to me (Wilmington NC) with English for $25. Thoughts on either of those options? I have a Jersey Woolie buck but he doesn't produce much in the way of wool or so it seems. I've also not been able to locate a doe within reasonable pick-up distance.

The crosses would probably be best for the meat rabbit capability and easier spinning....

but you can't beat that price, and the likelihood that you will get the temperament you want would be better with pure English. I haven't worked with either breed, but some Germans are bred with more of a "production" mentality, (as in they don't need to be great lap-sitters because of those crazy rabbit shearing machines) If it were me I would go for the English - they are teeechnically commercial type, but you could sell culls as woolers instead for at least $25, probably double.

All I can tell you is why I chose French angoras instead of English or German: