Which to keep?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lereg15

Reaction score
I am new to rabbits, and was wondering the details on the kits that you all keep instead of cull or sell. What should I be looking for in them, that tells me that it would be something that I would want to keep? I am starting to raise NZW's now for meat and selling too, in case some of you may not know. Is there something with the size, or is there something else I should be looking for? Right now I am just wanting some meat for the freezer, but it may end up being more than that eventually, so I need to know what to look for. Thank you all in advance!!

It has varied over the years

My current main priority is fast growth rate so I keep the biggest does in the litter.

When I first started I wanted fertility as I had a couple does that were very hard to get pregnant and only had litters of less than 6 :(

Then I switched to a hay, grain and forage diet so getting meaty on this was my priority, then I had an outbreak of hepatic coccidia and so my goal was resistance to this disease and I've replaced all but 2 of my does with better stock and I haven't had a spotty liver in months :)

I'll wait to see how that goes as I start feeding weeds again and if I need to tweak the disease resistance genetics or if I can try tractors and stay focused on good growth on forage