What time of day do you feed?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Daniac

Reaction score
Obviously I am new to rabbits, just received my first 3 does & one buck. I have been feeding them about 6oz at 8am for the last few days. I am in the process of slowly switching them over to Purina Professional, and on the bag it says to feed in the evening because rabbits are more nocturnal?

Welcome!

I feed my rabbits in the morning because it works best with my schedule. They do eat more at night. Evening probably would be best but I'm not sure it makes any difference.

However - rabbits like routine so whatever you decide, stick with it. Feed them around the same time every day and they'll be happy.

(Side note - when you get a chance, please update your location on your profile. Doesn't make any difference with this question but the answer to many questions will depend on where you're located. Being able to see that simplifies things for those trying to help you. Thanks.)

My rabbits seem to be crepuscular, most active at dawn and dusk, but
they will happily eat whenever there is food in front of them.

I usually feed them in the late afternoon, but I try to keep hay for nibbling available all the time..

There was was an incident I was reading about last year...It involved someone having a problem with an animal control officer who was upset that her rabbits still had empty dishes when it was almost noon.
(I guess for morning people, that is really late in the day.)

It was alarming to me, because I'm a late starter myself. Not usually up until afternoon, because I work nights. I have never had to deal with animal control, but if I ever do, I sure hope that having hay available 24-7 is good enough.