What Color? Mini Rex Babies ~ New pictures added

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Skyz84

Reaction score
So I'm new to breeding mini rex bunnies and I'm trying to figure out the correct colors to call the babies we have.

Mom I believe is called a Broken Red?
DSCN6875.jpg

Dad a Solid Blue?
DSCN7593.jpg

2 babies are Broken Blacks and the other 3 I'm not sure of. One seems to have more of a red/brown tent to it with two very small light orange/brown spots on the head.

Group:
DSCN7960.jpg

3 I'm not sure about:
DSCN7941.jpg

DSCN7922.jpg

Baby in back has the red/brown tint to it:
DSCN7937.jpg

Close up of the one with the red/brown tint:
DSCN7946.jpg

I think your buck may be the same color as one of mine. If you blow in his fur is it blue all the way down or is there a ring color? Take a look at this post and see if he is the same:
what-color-is-this-buck-t6164.html

In the second pic of the babies I believe the middle one is a broken castor, and the outside ones are opal. Your broken blacks are actually broken black otters.

Neat litter! Congratulations!

He doesn't have a ring of color. He is solid blue when you pull his hair up and look at the undercoat.
(Although in some pictures he has a red hue to him :?: ). He is a just a little darker then the photo shows. I can't seem to get a good photo to show exactly how dark he is.)

Does the tan color on the ears of the Broken Blacks mean they are Black otters?

Skyz84":lh28o1ut said:
He doesn't have a ring of color. He is solid blue when you pull his hair up and look at the undercoat.
(Although in some pictures he has a red hue to him :?:

He is probably a blue, then. When I see that pinkish tint, it makes me think lilac, but I haven't ever seen one myself.

Skyz84":lh28o1ut said:
Does the tan color on the ears of the Broken Blacks mean they are Black otters?

Yes.