What Breed Did You Choose and Why?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tara B

Reaction score
I am new to the world of rabbits and am finding it extremely interesting! I cant believe there are so many different breeds and varieties!

I will be raising rabbit for meat for my dogs, my husband and i. When i first started researching it seemed like the NZ was the be-all and end-all of meat rabbits. But after reading through this and other forums i see that so many of you have so many different breeds that you breed for meat!

I am, i'm sure like everyone is, looking for the perfect combination of production efficiency, temperament and looks. But it doesn't seem to come down to one breed or else everyone would have the same breed!

I am interested to hear how everyone came to raise a certain breed, i am sure there are countless factors involved!

Well, I was looking to just have mutts, and then I got this beautiful NZ red doe, and got hooked. Now though, I wish I had actully maybe gone with the mutts anyway--there are soo many cool colors you can have when you are breeding just for meat, and it is just so fun, guessing what color you may get. If I stick with the reds I will have purebreds, but I will only ever see red (or red and white) in the nest box. Since mostly they are all headed for the freezer, I don't think it matters much. I originally planned to sell some for pets or breeders, but now, meh, the market is only so-so for that, pleasing myself is seeming more important than trying to breed for anyone else. We can eat whatever I could produce here anyway, I am in town.