Sebastopol Geese

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MamaSheepdog

Reaction score
Has anyone had any experience with them?

One of my neighbors has a one year old pair that they are giving away for free. She says that they were kind of aggressive with her ducks but now the ducks know to stay away from them.

My chickens and ducks have a large area to range in, but I don't want the geese to beat everyone up... plus I have hens with chicks right now.

Think I should give it a try? I do have an area that I could pen them up in, but wouldn't want to have to keep them separate forever.

I've no personal experience of them (my breed is Pilgrim, the sweetest of geese) but they are so gorgeous that I think I'd take a chance. All geese (even Pilgrims) can get rather testy in the spring due to hormones, so you may find they will settle down now that the breeding season is over.

What's the worst that could happen? If they don't work out, you could sell them or you could eat them. They might be a bit old for roasting, but there are wonderful recipes for such things as goose sausage (I have a great book devoted to the culture of geese, including recipes . . . and you'd have the down to harvest and those gorgeous curved feathers too. They are likely moulting at the moment (our Elsie is dropping feathers everywhere) but once they are through that they will be beautiful.

Had to look that one up. :shock: Never had heard of them. Everything I read say they do tend to be a bit cranky,. Good eggers and make great lawn mowers.
giphy.gif

I love geese, I had a pair each of Africans, Embden and Pilgrim for many years in my youth and when we only had chickens and on a much smaller scale

BUT