Not so tender?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sunrise

Reaction score
I'm really new to rabbit for dinner. I raise show rabbits (average 4.5 pounds as adults, mini satins) but I don't want to waste the ones I cull and I stopped selling for pets. I have butchered about 10 so far and tried them in different recipes, also different ages and weights. The ones I crockpot for shredding turn out pretty well, but are still a little tough to shred (maybe that's normal?). The only other recipe I tried that wasn't very tough was baked BBQ rabbit, it wasn't too bad. Everything else I have tried, including bacon wrapped for the fat, or sauces for retaining moisture ended up being really tough. I know the younger the better, but seems like even the 12 week olds are tough. Am I doing something wrong or can I try something different? (I do let them rest a couple of days in the fridge after butchering). Should I try marinating them? Thanks for any help you can give me.

You say you let them rest a couple days in the fridge, but I'm wondering if you're trying to cook them before rigor has passed. Ours usually take several hours to go into rigor and then it doesn't pass until 5 to 7 days. Know that is longer than most folks report on here, but it's in line with other information we found on line for rigor time for different livestock animals. We usually butcher in the 12 to 14 week range. Even when we've cooked an adult, not in the crockpot, we haven't had toughness, except at the beginning before we learned about rigor--or the ones we froze before rigor set in.
Hope you figure it out so you can enjoy eating what you've grown.

Rainey,

So do you leave the rabbit in the fridge for 5-7 days before freezing to ensure rigor has passed? What is your butcher to cook storage process for tender rabbit meat?

Luis

Ours, like Rainey's take 5 - 7 days for rigor to pass. :)