Newbie Q: when to check on kits?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoannaCW

Reaction score
I'm expecting my first 2 litters of kits next week (if the does are really pregnant...we'll see.) I have read in some places that it's important to check on very young kits in the nest box and remove sick or dead kits, in others that it's important not to disturb the doe too soon after kindling lest she should become upset and eat her kits. I'm not sure how to put these together. Leave her and them alone for the first day or two or three or...and then start checking?

I'm also not sure how to tell when she's given birth if I'm not poking around in the nest box, unless I actually happen to be there when she pops the kits out...

FWIW, these does have both kindled before--it's my first time but not theirs.

Any advice greatly appreciated. Sorry I've been posting so many questions...I did try to research things ahead of time but now notice how many gaps there are in my understanding.

I just had my first two litters, one a week ago and one today. I read the same confusing things! One thing that I figured is that I had spent enough time with my does to know them and I would stick my hand in the nest box every day after day 28 so the doe was used to me doing it and wouldn't be as concerned once the kits were in there. Both of mine I gave them about 12 hrs after having the kits before pullig the nest boxes out and counting and checking on the litter. In fact I get off work in 10 min and the first thing I get to do when I get home is count the litter that was born sometime this morning! :D

So if you know that either of your does is particularly nervous or if you notice that she seems real concerned with you around after the kits are born. It doesn't hurt to give them a day or two to settle.