I'd really appreciate a looksee and advice.

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stephanie

Rabbit Talk Supporter
Reaction score
I'm still getting set up and haven't yet gotten any buns. But, I should be all ready in just 2 or 3 more weeks. I have been keeping an eye out for potential sources of breeding material. I just ran across an ad in craigslist. The pics of the buns look healthy to me, although there's only so much you can glean from a pic. Since I am new to raising and breeding rabbits, which will be for a meat source, I was hoping some of you kindhearted, experienced rabbiteers might take a quick look and give me your opinion. I value any and all input from y'all.
http://norfolk.craigslist.org/grd/5107863993.html

Most suggest on here go through a reputable breeder then you know what your getting. Sorry I can't be more help along the meat side of it as we just bred pet mini lops.
All the best and welcome to RT others will come along shortly and help advise you :)

Do you already have cages and equipment?

The price with the cages and equipment seem very reasonable, but it is hard to judge condition from pictures. The rabbits look okay, but not outstanding. Are you just looking to put meat on the family table or do you have more ambitious plans such as showing and selling future breeding stock?

I started with some so-so meat mutts and I haven't regretted it. We were just about at the stage you are at now, not quite ready, when my guy brought home five meat mutts. Two clearly had dwarf stock so we soon sent them to the freezer, but the others produced well for us. Their conformation was far from outstanding, but we worked with them and selected the best from the offspring for future breeders.