feeding rabbits strictly greens

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

justfine505

Reaction score
Howdy, I am new to the rabbit meat raising and getting some different info from other rabbit raisers. One guy only uses pellets with a few greens to suppliment, but he's been having abort problems. Another farmer who raised them for many years told me that he only feed them greens: tree leaves, grass, whatever was around, and they were all find and bred really well.

I would like to avoid spending money on pellets, as it's too expensive. I was expecting cheap meat, not supporting the industrial ag machine through buying non-organic pellets.

Any thoughts on just throwing whatever greens I've got in their cages, letting them eat their fill and calling it good?

Thanks! My 3rd litter is due any second now:) And butchering my first litter in a couple weeks.

It is certainly possible to feed rabbits well without commercial pellets, but you cannot just throw whatever greens you've got in their cages, let them eat their fill and call it good.

I feed my rabbits alfalfa hay, some grass hay, a bit of whole grain (wheat, barley or oats) and as much fresh food as the season allows. From May to October, they eat mainly weeds, tree trimmings and a bit of surplus garden produce, but they always have the hay and grains available too. The working does and growing fryers, in particular, need that extra. There is a SAFE PLANTS LIST on this forum that I recommend you read. There are many plants that are not good food for rabbits and which may even poison them... so you do need to do your homework before embarking on this route.

If your rabbit currently are pellet-fed, you will also need to transition your rabbits to natural foods over a period of several weeks to ensure that they do not e\develop GI problems.