Cavy Catostrophe

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cspr

Reaction score
Okay, so the title is a little more exciting than planned but I had to go for alliteration.

Anyway, I'm new to cavies. I got one pair late last year and my third this spring. I have two boars and a sow. I have them in proper-sized, solid-bottom cages. They get plenty of water, supplemented by vit C in winter, and I feed them greens; hay; and pellets (calf manna, rabbit feed, guinea pig with vit C feed, and sweet feed). They also have toys and get lots of cuddles. My first pair, Rikki and Usha, are Peruvians so they get groomed a lot also.

I was trying to breed Usha and Rikki, my third, for some pet quality, short-haired mutts because I can only really sell long hairs to breeders/showers. This is when I noticed the severity of some behavioral issues.

Rikki and Tesla like to knock their water bottle off. It is now duct-taped and clamped to the side of the cage. Tesla has always been skittish, but if he gets nervous when I try to hold him (he's scared of heights so those first few seconds often result in alarm calls before I have him pressed to my chest)? Rikki will start to chatter at me and glare. When I put Tesla back, Rikki circles him and purrs.

When I tried to put Tesla in with Usha, she reacted aggressively with chasing, chattering, nipping, etc. She even tried to bite my fingers when I tried to pet her. I figured she wasn't in the mood for a roommate, so I waited a week and tried again. Same result. Rikki even started chattering too. Tesla was so confused, let me tell you. I removed Tesla and then figured, well, I chose Rikki and Usha as a breeding pair, why don't I see how they'd go together even if their pups will be a bit harder to place? They're now very happy. Lots of purring. No behavioral issues, which only started since Tesla was introduced.