Blue eyes???

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jessykah

Reaction score
I am new to NZW's and recently purchased a breeding trio. 2 of them have red eyes, but one has blue eyes. Does this mean that she isn't purebred? (at least I can identify them easily haha)

I think that's correct...I think I've read that means a vienna gene somewhere in the background...

Perhaps its just my opinion, But yes, that means she is not purebred.
"The most noticeable characteristic of New Zealand white rabbits is their bright eyes, which range in shade from pale pink to bright ruby red"

The BEW
and the REWs are two different genes, a Vennia, is considered a 'pattern' where a REW is a color, and here is the kicker, it's a gamble what you would get out of the mix.

And Blue eyes are dominant over the red-- you can have a BEW NZ, especially if one of the parents was brown eyed. I have a marked doe here that I know is carrying, and has passed on, the blue eyes.

Blue eyes are a recessive gene it requires that both parents pass along the vienna gene. Ruby Eyed white is also recessive, both parents must have the c gene in order to get REW. However REW can mask the BEW gene, and BEW can mask the REW gene which is why most breeders tend to keep REW and BEW separate from each other, or you end up with a big headache.

Since NZW do not have blue eyes it's safe to assume they're not purebred. You'll often find that people will sell a white rabbit as a NZW no matter what it came out of.

Now you are really screwing with me-- how can BEW mask REW if REW can mask BEW? Isn't eye color unrelated to coat color, UNLESS there is albinism present? Somewhere, I beleive on this list, it was stated that BEW is always dominant over REW.

if a person wanted to breed for eye color while making the coat a 'self' other than white at the same time, does this mean the REW NZ cannot be used?