Breeding Help!?!?!

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DTrain

Reaction score
I am new to meat rabbits. I bought a buck and two does. All New Zeelands with pedigree from a breeder. They have been breed once before. After I got them home I waited about 3 weeks or so and then tried breeding them.

I put doe 1 in with the buck on 2-28-15 at 3:45pm and again at 9:00pm. I pute doe 2 in the buck on 2-28-15 at 6:15pm and 10:30pm. It seemed like he did the deed with both does. On 3-1-15 I put doe 1 back in at 2:20 and again it seemed like the buck breed her. I put doe 2 in again on 3-1-15 from 5pm to 6pm, but she wasn't having any of it.

I put the next boxes in 3-27-15 around 5:30pm. At this time, still no litters. I am beginning to think they weren't breed.

What did I do wrong? How should I do it differently when I try again? When should I try again?

Thanks for your help as I am really confused right now. Again I was told the buck was proven and the does had one litter. It was very cold here in MI when I tried breeding them in Feb.

Sometimes the magic just doesn't happen. If rabbits are good at anything, it's making babies, so just give them another try. ;)