worms! lymph nodes! icky lung! oh my! HELP!!

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mytdogs

Reaction score
K- gotta make this quick...I am processing some rabbits i bought from a local guy. This is my first time.

1. I can see worms-pin worms? in the cecum-gag!
2. The rabbit's Lymph nodes seem awfully large....but again I am a newbie
3. The cranial lung lobe- closest to the head- is very mottled- not filled with puss or anything just a purple (lavender?) color with darker pin point blood spots....not sure what this is & if it is related to the other 2 issues.

Kidney's, liver, other lungs & heart looked okay AFAICT.

The rabbit was killed with CO2 if that helps. I tried to take pix with my cell phone but they aren't so good.

Should any of the above prevent me from feeding this rabbit to my dog (AFTER I COOK IT)????

Thanks!!
MyT

Do you just feed the meat or the entrails as well? Pin worms are not a huge deal in themselves, although rather gross, and not something you would want in your dogs. I think cooking would take care of that.

The purple mottling of the lung COULD POSSIBLY be from the CO2... I'm not sure. No clue about the lymph nodes.

Why not contact the person you bought them and ask about the effects of CO2? Or do a Google search?<br /><br />__________ Sat May 29, 2010 5:59 am __________<br /><br />

Purple is an indication of lack of oxygen. Like when someone is poisoned by Cyanide gas, or strangled or smothered...the lips will turn blue(purple). Anyplace that the veins are close to the surface will go dark blue or purpley