Tri or Charlie

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Graceful Rabbitry

gracefulrabbits
Reaction score
I was wondering how you tell the difference between a tri and Charlie marked newborn rabbit. Is a tri technically a Charlie. I’m very new to colors.

Great question. A tri is simply a broken harlequin pattern; the kit has both the En dominant spotting gene and the e(j) harlequin gene. Harlequin takes the normal banding of dark (black, blue, lilac or chocolate) and yellowish (fawn, orange, cream, red) on the agouti hairshaft, and instead puts them in patches on the skin. A normal agouti has the dark and orange shades all on one hairshaft, but the harlie has patches/spots of dark and orange on the skin. The broken gene adds white to the dark and orange, which is why they are called 'tricolor', 'tri' for short.

Any color pattern can be broken up with white, so you could have a broken solid black, a broken chestnut agouti, a broken tortoiseshell, or a broken harlie for example. So, look for the traits of the main color first. Harlequins will have patches of dark and orange on the skin. It may be in patches or dots of color, stripes, wide bands, or just all mixed up (called brindle). With the English spotting gene, the dark and orange often appear as dots of color on a white background. So, you're looking for dark and orange dots for a tricolor, especially over the back.

A broken tortoiseshell can mimic a tricolor, as it normally has dark on the face, legs and tail, and orange on the body. So, a mostly white rabbit with dark spots only on the points, and orange only on the body is probably a broken tortoiseshell, not a true tricolor harlequin, even though there are three colors visible.