To scruff or not to scruff?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mama583

Reaction score
I am pretty new at this rabbit buisness. I started out with 3 adult NZs and they were used to being scruffed when I brought them home. I have read it's dangerous and can tear the skin so I attempted to pick them up "correctly" but they attempted to slice me up with the razor blades attached to their feet. They ended up getting scruffed and were successfully bred and no skin tore. So thinking ahead to the next breeding...is it common to scruff rabbits of this size?

okay. Scruffing is the only way I can keep my arms intact too. I don’t think you can rip the skin of a rabbit by scruffing him/her. You could try to support their bellies a little bit as long as the rabbits don’t kick or you could put their heads in between your arm and your body. It might calm them down.

okay. Scruffing is the only way I can keep my arms intact too. I don’t think you can rip the skin of a rabbit by scruffing him/her. You could try to support their bellies a little bit as long as the rabbits don’t kick or you could put their heads in between your arm and your body. It might calm them down.
Good to know your rabbits haven't experienced any injuries from being picked up that way. The 3 adults weren't handled much in their previous home. I am hoping the young ones I am raising to replace them will be more calm.

the babies should be more calm is you handling them. My rabbits are only two kg so maybe wait for a reply from someone with big rabbits like you.

New Zealand? I definitely wouldn't hold them like that, with all that weight. I've only done it with Kits and a few times when I need to reach back into a cage to grab an aggressive Doe (I have Netherland Dwarfs)