removing steel genetics

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ladysown

Staff member
Reaction score
So I bought in some unpedigreed dutch.

SOMEONE has the steel gene in them, either the buck, or a senior doe but I'm not sure who.

How do I track it down and remove it from the gene pool means what? Culling everything that could possibly carry it or just the rabbits that show it and not breeding from them? Would it be that simple to simply cull the rabbits that show it?

I've never tried to eradicate a colour before so I'm a bit uncertain how to proceed. I have two additional litters from the buck so hopefully that will tell me something...

So I bought in some unpedigreed dutch.

SOMEONE has the steel gene in them, either the buck, or a senior doe but I'm not sure who.

How do I track it down and remove it from the gene pool means what? Culling everything that could possibly carry it or just the rabbits that show it and not breeding from them? Would it be that simple to simply cull the rabbits that show it?

I've never tried to eradicate a colour before so I'm a bit uncertain how to proceed. I have two additional litters from the buck so hopefully that will tell me something...
Steel is dominant at the E locus (to every E series allele except dominant black <E(D)> which is rare), but it can hide effectively in at least two ways:

- if it's homozygous <E(S)E(S)> aka a "supersteel" which can look like a self black (or a self blue, chocolate or lilac)
- if it's in a self rabbit <aa>, which does not allow the steel banding to be expressed

Steel expresses itself in the phenotype as steel only in the presence of agouti <A_>. It also shows itself, more subtly, in otters/martens a(t)_>.