Rabbit Fence for Netherland Dwarfs

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lpmorgens

Reaction score
Hi all!

I'm new to breeding.. just had our very first kits ever!!!!!

Anyhow, we are going to build some rabbit hutches in the backyard (6 open acres with conservation land and lots of wild critters, from coyotes to foxes to turkeys, etc.).

Anyhow, for the most part, our rabbits will be housed indoors, but we are planning to build some hutches, runs, and play areas in the back. Just in case a rabbit gets out, we want to create a fence that covers a large portion of our yard, so cheap is important. We are down to either 36" tall or 48" tall vinyl coated hex netting (chicken wire) for the outer barrier. We are planning to dig a trench to bury some of the fencing, even though we don't think the rabbits will ever reach the fence for long enough to dig out. Here's the question:

We'd rather buy just a little of the 36" fence, but then would that be tall enough to keep Netherland Dwarfs from hopping over in a mad rush? The 48" fence would require up to build a much deeper trench (lots of work and expensive equipment would be needed). We do want it to look somewhat decent, so we do not want to fold the top down.

If we bury some of the 36" fence, we would probably be looking at a fence that is 28-30" tall. The rabbits are small, and it will only function as a safety, outer barrier. Thoughts? Thanks so much!!!!

Attachments

• IMG_2800 samller.jpg
    IMG_2800 samller.jpg
    201.9 KB · Views: 1,276
  • 4_20_2017 smaller.jpg
    4_20_2017 smaller.jpg
    455.3 KB · Views: 1,276