Questions about californians

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sweeethearts_2002

Reaction score
Hello all,
I am recently (1 year) owner of 3 does and 1 buck of which I know we're bred before. I had 3 fall off with 2 does and only 1 fall off with another. One of my does has gained 5lb in 10 days! Is this normal. She also gad 2 bouts of loose stool and since I was over feeding (didn't know) and started manually feeding 1c mixedpellet and oat (light on oats) per day she seemed to eat normal and now eating less, I changed her water to electrolytes until poop comes back normal I'm also giving dandelions to help. I have no experience Palpating but I tried. I think I'm feeling kit movement but not 100% sure. Her weight 10 days ago was 11. 2. Now it's 16.2. I'm nervous she's just over weight at the same time scared she won't have a box in time. I have doing thr dame thing just ones stools are normal and she is 1lb lighter. Here's aa pic of the heaviest. Any advise on what to expect during g pregnancy and or what you think?

Attachments

• 20220502_200409.jpg
    20220502_200409.jpg
    145 KB · Views: 7
  • 20220502_200333.jpg
    20220502_200333.jpg
    67.6 KB · Views: 7
Let me first say I'm an amateur in all respects but I do have Cali's and can only compare to mine.

As an inexperienced amateur I have never tried to palpitate. My view is you get what you get. Fumbling about isn't going to make it any different.

In the politest way of saying it. She does look a bit hefty compared to mine, even in kit. But there's nothing you can do about it now she needs nourishment for her and her unborn kits. Plus they're all different the same as we are.

One fall off for me drew a complete blank but other people have had a result so who knows.

Go with the nest box, what's to lose?

Good luck