Question about future breeding program

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm getting a trio of Am Chins this month. The breeder is going to breed one of the does to an unrelated buck to the three rabbits I'm getting. Any suggestions on the best future breeding program for these guys? Thanks. I'm pretty new at this and currently have some NZW jrs. I'm breeding for meat. The Chins I'm hoping to sell some of them.

On a small scale, there is only so much you can do. Don't worry about inbreeding/linebreeding... It's not a big deal with rabbits as long as the individuals involved are good to start with. Breed the best of the best... and sell or eat the rest. That way you will improve your stock over time. You may want to save a couple of rabbits from that unrelated breeding, just to keep those genetics in your herd.

tm_bunnyloft":1dencomn said:
What are your goals with them?
First meat rabbits.

But I'm hoping to sell some as breeders, perhaps meat pens, and show as well. I believe these are some rabbits with some good pedigrees that I am getting. So multi-purpose, but I am getting them to make money in sales to pay for the feed for the guys who will be supplying all the meat.

My only suggestion is to keep the one who grow fastest & get heaviest for breeding. I keep more does and very few bucks unless your herd sire is lacking and a son is better or if your going to show. I tend to show more bucks than does