Papers...

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Easy Ears

Reaction score
Hi!
So I've been raising a mixed breed of Dutch for about a year now. I finally got my first pair of papered Holland lops and bred them a month ago. My doe didn't lift, so no shocker there wasn't babies this week. Anyway, I plan to rebreed in a couple weeks but I had a few questions since babies will be coming... this is my first time dealing with papers since my Dutch are mixed breed. I have complete pedigrees from both the sire and dam going back to their G.G. So in the babies should I include the G.G.? Or just go back to the Grandfather. Is there a rule to this? And where are some good paper outlines I can fill in for the kits?

Also my mom was wondering if you have to be registered somewhere to sell papered rabbits....I told her I didn't think so, but would check with you guys to see. :)

Gotta love Holland lops!
You don't need to be registered anywhere to sell papered rabbits. Their pedigree should include itself, parents, grandparents, and great grandparents. For the pedigree outline you can download a software, or make it yourself. I made my own pedigree outlines, and I think it turned out pretty cool!

Kintraks has a free program you can use, or you can make a written template. http://www.kintraks.com/index.htm, many people also use Evans rabbit program.

Basically a pedigree is a record of that rabbit's relatives, so you include all relevant information (legs, GC numbers and status, registration number, color, weight) most breeders do a 3 generation (parents, grand parents and great grand parents) but I have some that go back further.

dangerbunny":3ida562c said:
Kintraks has a free program you can use, or you can make a written template. http://www.kintraks.com/index.htm, many people also use Evans rabbit program.