Newbie kindling ? - First time doe with one kit so far

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sashakaran

Reaction score
Hi there :)

I'm a newbie to rabbits, and my Am Chin doe is a first timer herself. This morning I walked out to find one lonely kit on the wire, in front of her. She was nudging it and I took it out of the cage to warm it up. The thing was squeaking within the hour and so I brought it out to try and nurse on momma. I flipped the doe over and the little baby went to town, so I felt comfortable putting it back in the nestbox. I noticed that mommma still has kits inside her! I felt them kicking! I felt her vulvar area to see if maybe there was a kit stuck, and nothing felt odd...

Is it normal that she had this one kit so early to the others? What is a usual timeline for the kindling process? With my Cali doe, she would kindle her whole litter within an hour!

(btw, I tossed a ton of orchard grass in the cage, all over the floor, so if any kits are born "on the wire" they won't be so chilled until I get there..?)

Well I have to head out to buy more pellets... but I've got my *fingers crossed*

Hopefully her nursing the one baby will stimulate contractions and she'll have the rest shortly. Keep us all posted!

Thanks!! I didn't know it, but I guess flipping her to have the single kit nurse was a good thing :)

She had 8 more rather large kits this afternoon that look extremely well fed... almost too big! She's been a fantastic mother so far, and it looks like she's plucked all the fur from her body! I've brought them inside in their nest box, and I'll be taking them out to momma in the morning for another feeding. I don't want to lose these guys like my other litters! And they look so vibrant and healthy :D

20130126_210508.jpg