Nervous About First Butchering

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shara

Reaction score
So I have decided today is the day that Doodle, my buck, meets the freezer camp fairy. I am very nervous, because I have never done this before. :cry: He really needs to go. I need the space and the feed, and can't find anyone to take him. At any rate, he feels meaty and good, and has an amazing silver-tipped black agouti coat, I think? Any ways, it is vey pretty, and I am saving it for when I learn to tan hides.

Which is the preferable method? Bopping or Broomsticking? I don't want him to suffer, I want him out fast, but think there might be a possibility of me getting it wrong, since I have never done this before. Just need it over with.

Any tips? Could use them all. :)

Between the two methods, I'd say broomsticking would be fast and sure. Dislocating very quickly. Just be sure which ever method you use...practice first on a post, or doll or something just so you know the steps to take..then be fast and sure with the rabbit. (we use a .22 pistol, so I can't give you any firsthand info on either method)

That's what I was thinking, too. Maybe I can find a youtube video about it. Good Idea to practice on a stuffed animal or something first.<br /><br />__________ Sun Jul 18, 2010 3:25 pm __________<br /><br />Well, I did it. I am shaky right now, it was freaky. I expected him to twitch, but he sctartched like he had an itch, after I was sure he was gone :shock: . Now for the dirty work. :|

I have joined the ranks of people who have killed their own meat. :cry:

But I am okay.