Need Advice -kits born outside the box.

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hm, my breeding does have 1-2 (rarely 3) litters per year, and remain active up to 5-6 years, Fury even had her last litter at 7. Litter sizes got smaller with age, but I rather have smaller, but more litters.

I'm sure that depends on lines, mine are just random mutts.

Last edited:
Hm, my breeding does have 1-2 (rarely 3) litters per year, and remain active up to 5-6 years, Fury even had her last litter at 7. Litter sizes got smaller with age, but I rather have smaller, but more litters.

Thank you. I'm giving her a long break and keeping 1 female. There decision made!! Sorry Lil Acorn for hoarding in on your post. I'm done now.

Since I am just starting out, I plan to breed more my first year. I want to get some in the freezer first. Then I can slow down. It kinda depends on litter size too. 6 is good, but I don't know how much I really need.

Thank you. I've decided to keep one doe. Just sexed them again with a woman who has had rabbits and she wasn't positive either but we're leaning on all does. They are 11 weeks yesterday. She said 4 to 5 kindles is all you will probably get from a doe. She is NZ/Rex cross, 1.5 yrs old.