Need Advice! Just lost a kit maybe 2 to the cold :(

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cinnabuns

Reaction score
My kits are 12 days old today. Proud mama, Norah, had 7 kits with no problems. The weather around here had been through all 4 seasons in the last 2 weeks. It is now sustaining cooler temps, but now that the kits were covered in fur I thought I had a little less to worry about.

Well, I was wrong. Checked on them tonight and I found one separated from the others and stiff/cold/not breathing and another in the bunch cold and barely moving, but the others were fine. I tried all I could for the one, but I knew when I found it that it was too late. The other I was able to warm up, but he just is not acting right at this point. I will be keeping an eye on all of them, but I am looking for some advice. I have a garden shed that I keep my rabbits in.

I am new to rabbits in a sense. I used to raise them as a 4Her kid, but it has been a long time... and this is my first litter in years. Already lost one litter within a day of this one d/t a first time mama... So I really want to have a successful litter!

I would like to know how you handle kits in the cold.
If you keep them inside away from mom, how often/how long to you take them out for?
How well do the does take not having their kits?

I take the kits away, keep them in the house all night, and put them back in the morning.

I know the does miss them, usually they build a second nest while the box is gone, they are looking for their kits. After the third time or so, they are used to it, I find them lying content in the cage, waiting for me, and they jump right into the box.

When the kits eyes are open, or they try climbing out of the box, they go out permanently.

So sorry Cinnabuns. But you have found a great place to get help, advice and ideas, so welcome!