Nasty bunny butts

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jadoh89

Reaction score
Okay so I have a rabbit colony. Our latest litter has been a disaster from the start! This mom hasn't been the best unfortunately. Now I noticed two babies this morning not being very active and today I was checking the sex. I was disgusted and hurt by what I found, dry caked on poop and what looks to be impacted anus on the 2. Puss from 1 along with missing fur. Now I haven't been handling these babies as much as past litters since this mom is aggressive and turns a bit neglective when I get involved. I'll attach photos because I'm not good at describing but I cleaned them up with wipes but not sure what else to do.

Attachments

• 20210903_122059.jpg
    20210903_122059.jpg
    105.5 KB · Views: 7
  • 20210903_123247.jpg
    20210903_123247.jpg
    92 KB · Views: 7
How old are the bunnies?

1. Is their only food mama's milk or are they nibbling solids too?
2. What foods are available to them?
Do they have easy acccess to fresh water?
I really need more information to help you, but this is what I would do if I were you:
Grass hay is the very best thing you can give them to supplement. It helps prevent "weaning enteritis" which can result from an abrupt weaning onto a pellet only diet. If any sign of diarrhea appears, cut out the pellets and give them hay and oatmeal only. There are several plants that can be fed as medicine for diarrhea: the LEAVES of raspberry, blackberry, or strawberry are all good, and also the leaves of the lawn weed plantain (Plantago major) or shepherd's purse (Capsella bursa pastoris)
___

I've seldom had any rabbit develop "poopy butt" but I know from my few experiences and the follow-up on many others just how effective these simple plants are. And they are safe, desirable green foods too.

en.wikipedia.org

Plantago major - Wikipedia