my setup: colony pen, feeding straps, brick nestboxes

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Permajen

Reaction score
Hello -- having been surfing for info on here, I thought I should share what I've done. It has rights and wrongs, I'm sure -- feel free to comment either way. I'm new at this and aiming for happy rabbits who happen to provide healthy meat occasionally. But it's all a bit of an experiment so far.

The pen is only 10 feet by 10 feet -- I thought it was much bigger (apologies to earlier thread) but actually measured it today. (Not good at maths!)

A subtropical/temperate zone means I don't need closed-in sides, but I'm growing vines and greens to add shade for next summer.
The nestboxes (purple stripe is part thereof) have been replaced, but the basic style is as above.

To this I've added brick nestboxes. My original nestboxes were refashioned plant pots with wooden fronts, but the rabbits didn't like them very much. Now they have:

Which as you can see is almost impossible to make sense of. Still, I can tell you that there are 2 brick nestboxes with timber lids smothered under all that straw (which is light and fluffy).
Removing the fluff you get:

...and then:

...and then (top view; lid has been removed and is leaning upward to the left):

Each nestbox has a floor of sand with straw on top. The whole pen is on a concrete slab, so there can be no digging.

The nestbox bricks are lightly mortared so they won't cave in if the bunnies indulge in destructive play.
Each has a concrete block as its doorway, with a hole just large enough for each (pregnant) rabbit.
Elsewhere in the pen, there's also a plastic drainage U inverted to make a tunnel, which the rabbits have been sleeping in prior to nestboxes being added.
They're good rabbits who never go to the toilet in their nestboxes or tunnel, but only in the corner of the pen. So far, so good.