Kits & Nest box

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ShadowJudy56210

Reaction score
Hey everyone I'm a little concerned and confused. This is my first time having a doe with kits and so far I'm doing pretty good. They are 6 days old (today) and I read alot that your suppose to clean the nest or at least removed anything that can cause nest box eyes. So far I've been making sure the nest is dry and there isn't much hay inside (I take out as much hay that's twined with the fur) but tomorrow is the day that I turn the heating lamp off (Judy doesnt use a nest box, she flipped it to its side so we wont see what shes doing and shes nested using the bottom but not the actual box.) And I don't know if I should move them to the bigger cage or I should wait till they actually start to walk? I have so many questions and I dont want to do the wrong thing. (Judy let's me handle the babies as long as shes out of the cage and has her treats lol).

You definitely should have hay and fur in there, it keeps them warm. Are they in a wire cage? If they are, you should move them to a hutch with a hay areaIMG_20220209_071024560.jpgHeres what I mean

You generally don't have to fuss with the nest a whole lot. leave the fur in the nest. as to moving them, you don't need to move them unless you want to. Is the cage you are thinking of moving them to just have more space? Or is it where you will be moving the growouts too? Or just easier to keep clean? You definitely don't have to move them until they are four weeks old.