Kit colors and Palamino buck?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MelC

Reaction score
Hi All! A year into owning rabbits, only beginning to breed. A few things I'm possibly interested in. "Red" bunnies. We like red heads, red chickens, red flowers, rubies, etc...it would fit to breed some red bunnies. I have an orange harlequin from my adopted litter last year. And the buck seems to have orange and the one orange kit....could I darken that somehow?

Now these little black bunnies all have a pattern similar to each other. Is that otter? Or? The coloration of the light area is whiter on two and light brown on one.

Anyways, any identifying help would be appreciated. I've been learning a bit about alleles and making lots of notes but it can be hard to pin point things when I have little experience with rabbits.

Here are the parents and our first born here babies. The doe's mother MAY be a black mini-rex (there were a similiar mix in her nest last year to this one..black, white, orange, grey) I own and her father is the same buck seen here. Two kits in that litter were adopted prior to me owning her so unsure.
20220912_185709.jpg
The doe when she was younger for better pic, she is now camera shy.
20230328_125158.jpgThe doe with her mini.

20220917_152855.jpg
The buck, line bred to daughter above. Was told he was Palamino? Is that a breed?
20230329_084057.jpg20230329_084650.jpg20230329_084424.jpg
20230329_084507.jpg20230329_084258.jpg20230329_084605.jpg

Just naming off what I think the colors look like in the order of the pictures
Doe & Kit - Chinchilla
Orange/Smutty Orange?
Black Otter/Marten
REW or BEW (depends on eye color)
Black Otter/Marten
Fawn
Black Otter/Marten
Chinchilla

Just naming off what I think the colors look like in the order of the pictures
Doe & Kit - Chinchilla
Orange/Smutty Orange?
Black Otter/Marten