Kit but no nest?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Millie J

Reaction score
Hi Guys

I'm new to breeding but I want to start hobby breeding. I have 3 girls and 2 boys all Netherland dwarfs and all 5 live together happily with a neutered female mixed breed. As these guys are all pets I really want to do this with them living together (obviously if they ever started fighting I'd split them up). Today while cleaning the cage I found a single kit, it was quite large (although this is the first kit I've ever seen) and after a while trying to warm it up and 'massaging' it, I finally confirmed that it was dead. I was under the impression that the mother would make a nest? But I found it on the other side of the cage to the hay. I put the kit back in the cage to see if the rabbits could revive it or something (...honestly I'm not sure what I was expecting here) all the bunnies had a sniff but then just wandered off, none of them seemed to care that there was a kit or that it was dead.

If I had known one was pregnant already I would have been more careful and checked more regularly although that's hindsight I guess. As they are pets they come out of the cage for long periods in the day, sometimes on their own and sometimes in groups and have not noticed any major behaviour changes in any of them (they all have different personalities). I also weighed them but all three are a similar weight to what they were at the beginning of the month and last month. I have been feeling their bellies since the beginning of March because I wasn't sure when or who would breed first but have not noticed any 'grapes' and surely I would have felt something that large? It's like the length of a back leg!!! They are mostly toilet trained but I do give the cage a quick hoover once a day and didn't notice it until today, could have been in a hide or corner?