Keeping doe & buck together, in hope of good litter results

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

honeybunnies

Reaction score
Hi bunny lovers,
I have 3 seperate enclosures in the house with me with my Mini Lops in them. I am trying to breed my 3 does with my 3 bucks. So I have a doe & a buck together in each enclosure.

I read on here that you can keep the buck & doe together for a week or two & get a good litter result & it's no problem to have them together that long, so I thought I would try it.

I am amazed at how well it works. I have never done a breeding this way before, as I imagined that the bucks would keep humping the does & annoy them, but that's not the case at all. I have only had them together for 4 days now & they cuddle, bond & get along well. In fact I have not seen one mating as yet. A little humping at first, but not one actual mating during the day at all. I wonder if they have been mating at night perhaps?

Previously, I have only ever mated them perhaps twice in the same day, with several hours in between matings & have always then put them back in their own enclosures & I haven't had a great deal of luck, as I have lost more young ones than I would have like to have lost, so I thought I would give this method of breeding a go.

Before I put the 3 does in with their partners, I had the 3 does all together in their own one enclosure & all was well. I'm hoping to be able to put them all back in their enclosure when the time is right & that all will still be well between them & they will all have their young ones in their own little spot where they choose to make their nests.

Has anyone else tried this method of breeding & how did it go? Any other helpful advice you would like to offer, would be appreciated too!

thanks, honeybunnies :bunnyhop: