Is light grey a dilute color genetically?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Juci

Rabbit Talk Supporter
Reaction score
I’ve been wondering if light grey is the same genetically as chinchilla light or squirrel, which carries the dilute gene.
I have a mixed breed doe who looks like this, but I have no idea if she’s squirrel/chinchilla light or light grey, or if there’s even a visible or genetic difference. Is it just a breed thing? Is it the same color that’s called squirrel in the chinchilla breed and light grey in Flemish giants?

I recently kept an interesting looking buck from another doe’s litter who I think is a Vienna marked lilac. I’m curious if I were to breed him to this doe in the future, if the whole litter would be dilute colors.

I’m still pretty new to rabbit genetics but learning a lot thanks to so many knowledgeable people on here and online. 😊🐰

Attachments

• 1222B86E-B5E1-4CB3-80C4-A1EEF892EC3F.jpeg
    1222B86E-B5E1-4CB3-80C4-A1EEF892EC3F.jpeg
    3.6 MB · Views: 0
  • CF1860EE-FCDA-49AE-BD1D-53624629B136.jpeg
    CF1860EE-FCDA-49AE-BD1D-53624629B136.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 0
  • B2FC393A-E361-40AF-A3E0-4A099E147EE8.jpeg
    B2FC393A-E361-40AF-A3E0-4A099E147EE8.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 0
  • 97C32E84-89F6-4AFC-830C-4AAFDDD87343.jpeg
    97C32E84-89F6-4AFC-830C-4AAFDDD87343.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 0
the buck is a gorgeous Vienna sallander. the doe is very light and the ear tips are black so a I have no idea if she is dilute or not.

the buck is a gorgeous Vienna sallander. the doe is very light and the ear tips are black so a I have no idea if she is dilute or not.
Ohhh, sallander makes sense! I was wondering why his ears turned a darker color lol. Thanks for clearing that up.
Yeah I thought her ear tips looked black rather than blue. Maybe that’s what separates a light grey coat color from a blue chinchilla…