Hotot from 2 Netherlands?!

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MamaMandy

Reaction score
Hi! I'm new here. I've been raising Netherland Dwarfs off and on for over 15 years, but I have a kit in a litter that was born yesterday that is baffling me! It looks like a Hotot! There is no color anywhere on him except for black around his eyes. The dam is a Himilayan, and the sire is a broken. He was sold to me as a broken blue, but the more I looked at him I thought he was a broken blue tort. Now I'm wondering if he's possibly a broken opal? I'm wondering that because another kit in the litter looks to be blue with a pink belly which from what I've found would possibly be opal? I'm having trouble finding out what the difference between a blue tort and an opal. Would one of them have hairs that are banded? Thanks in advance for any help with this! :D

~Mandy

Pink belly and blue coloring would be an opal, if the ears are pink. If the kit a broken? Of course with the brokens the belly is pink, but the ears always tell. Sometimes agouti bands don't appear for some time.

Okay thanks! So you're saying if the kit is a broken it's ears would be dark, but if it's an opal the ears would be pink like the belly? The sire definitely has banded hairs...I'm guessing he's not a blue tort? He also has fawn coloring at his nape. Any thoughts on the hotot marked kit?

MamaMandy":21iynoyh said:
Okay thanks! So you're saying if the kit is a broken it's ears would be dark, but if it's an opal the ears would be pink like the belly? The sire definitely has banded hairs...I'm guessing he's not a blue tort? He also has fawn coloring at his nape. Any thoughts on the hotot marked kit?