Hi, breed check pretty pls

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EziRae

Reaction score
Hi and thx for the help!

The two black and whites were sold to me as flemish giants. As far as I can tell moody looks like a checkered giant and ash looks maybe like a harlequin magpie? But that's completely separate from a glemish giant right?

And cinnabun is supposed to be a mini lop. I'm new to rabbit breeds so any help is appreciated.
20211005_150042.jpg20211005_150130.jpg20211005_150012.jpg

I am not a expect at rabbit breeds but cinnabun is a lop for sure. she is probably not a English lop since they have really long ears … she probably is a mini lop. Is ashie the size of moody because harlequins are a smaller breed (I think). If he is the the size of moody then he is not a harlequin.

I hope it helps.

That does help. Ash is almost the same size as moody. Is it possible they're just flemish giants that are colored that way?

No, Flemish Giant rabbits don't have the broken gene (which is Moody is displaying) nor do they have the harlequin gene (which is what Ashie is showing by being magpie).

Moody actually gives me more of a New Zealand mix vibe, and FG/NZ mixes are pretty common a cross. (NZ also doesn't have the harlequin gene in their breed so something else is in Ashie, possibly Rex). Though neither one really gives me a FG vibe at all, their ears are awfully standard imo.

Beautiful buns though! That's a bummer they're not what they were sold to you as 😔

Oh, and Moody appears to be a silver tipped black steel, just for additional info on coat color. 🙂