Evaluate Mini Lop breeding stock :)

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mini Lop Fan

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to Rabbit Talk. I raise Mini Lops mostly for pets, but now I am looking into purchasing several show quality pedigreed Mini Lops, and I wondered if anyone could help me evaluate them? Please be honest and detailed about their weaknesses and strengths!

Okay, so here is the buck I am interested in. I am obviously a newbie, as all I can tell is that he seems to have low shoulders... Anyway, do you think he would be a good starting buck? His Sire has has won 8 consecutive GC Legs and Dam has 2 GC Legs, so he seems to have some good background. Screenshot 2019-08-20 at 7.29.55 PM.png

The second buck I am interested in is a chocolate chinchilla buck, which I love because he would carry the b gene. He is eleven months and has won a GC leg already. He is also molting now, so his fur is kinda splotchy. :) Screenshot 2019-08-29 at 2.34.18 PM.png
Screenshot 2019-08-29 at 2.31.54 PM.png
This is the first doe I am interested in. One reason I want her is that she carries the self gene. Another thing going for her, is that she has won 3 GC Legs. And she has produced several Grand Champions. So mostly with her, she is three years old, do you think she would be a worthwhile buy and then replace her with another doe in the future? Screenshot 2019-08-20 at 7.41.29 PM.png

The second doe I am interested in is ten months and comes from Grand champion bloodlines. The pictures is not very good, but the breeder said she has a good crown and a good face, and she would send me more pictures. Screenshot 2019-08-29 at 2.40.23 PM.png

I would really like to get the Lilac doe, the Chocolate chinchilla buck, and the black broken doe, but I don't think I quite have the room. :(