Disinterested Buck - Tips??

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

finneyme

Reaction score
I am still new to raising/breeding rabbits, and I got my first trio a few weeks ago. They have been settled into their hutches and I made sure I observed them all for the first couple weeks for signs of illness or other health problems before attempting to breed them. My does are NZ/Satin cross and the buck is Californian. They were all born early to mid-May, which puts them at or just over 6 months old. I am in Maryland so the weather has been somewhat cold (so I know it ain't the heat that's the problem). I did read all the posts I could find about this issue, but some of those threads were pretty old, so I figured I'd better start a new one.

I attempted to breed a pair last week, I put one of the does in with the buck and he got pretty excited and started trying to mount her right away. She wasn't very willing though and ran him around in circles until he got worn out. After a while, I tried the other doe (just to see if she might give him less trouble, but she did the exact same thing. I have heard that "virgin" does can be problematic at first, so I was expecting this. But, I was pleased to see the buck trying at least. The second doe didn't do any better than the first, so I took her out and put her back in her own cage. I figured I'd try again tomorrow.