Color question

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

preciousgurl63

Reaction score
I'm just wondering what colors might I get when I breed my broken chocolate doe to my self black buck. She is pedigreed and has broken chocolate, blue, chocolate, lilac, broken lilac, broken black, otter-black, and white all in her pedigree. My buck I never got a ped for but got to see his parents which was a self blue and self black. I know I'm probably going to just have to wait till I breed them next yr to see but I was just curious what you guys might think/say the colors she might have. I know when I bred my buck to my black tort doe they had 5 black torts, 1 blue tort and 1 self black. I was told that he probably carries dilute and non-extension. I'm still learning so I really don't know what that means.

The doe is probably aa bb C_ D_ E_ Enen
since since she is chocolate. If her sire or dam were blue or lilac, then she will carry dilute.
If either were REW [ruby eye white] she will carry albino "c"
Even if one of them was blue, since she is chocolate, she cannot carry black,
but since the buck IS black he will contribute that gene to at least half of the kits.

The buck is probably aa B_ C_ Dd Ee enen

You will get at least 1/2 black & 1/2 broken kits.
If he carries brown, you can get chocolate kits. If he does not, you will get all black.
If she carries dilute you can get blue. And if she carries dilute and he carries brown you can get lilac.
If she carries non-extension you can also get tort.

You will NOT get any otter or agouti, since both rabbits are self and that is the most recessive
and they cannot carry those genes.

Well this is how her pedigree looks.

-----------------------------------------Chocolate
------------------------Chocolate
(Sire)Broken Chocolate
-----------------------------------------Broken Black
------------------------Broken Chocolate