4-H Tattooing

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The_Dutchess

Reaction score
Do you have to tattoo a rabbit for 4-H? Is it different for different areas? I'm a beginner and don't really want to do it myself. Is there a way I can get it done by someone else inexpensively?

I hear there are usually people at shows who will tattoo for little money - I was quoted $5.

It is always a "GOOD" idea to Tattoo your Rabbit,
even if you feel it is only for a 4H rabbit show.
Tattooing gives you a definitive way to know that,
that particular Rabbit IS yours!
Often at a show there may be many rabbits
of the same breed and color as yours.
Even with Tattoos it has happened that the wrong Rabbit
is picked up and not realized until after they are placed
back in their cage at home when the Ooops is discovered.
I m a sure that if you know a Breeder in your area they
would tattoo your rabbit for you at possibly a slight charge
or maybe none at all. If so it might be a good jesture to offer
the price of a Bottle of Tattoo Ink.
Ottersatin. :eek:ldtimer:

I don't know if the rules are the same everywhere but our 4h club requires the rabbit to have a tattoo. Ours was done by the 4h advisor. You may want to contact your extension office and see what their rules are and if they have someone to give the tattoos.

The last show I was at, the registrar was offering tattoos for like $2. :) I would for sure have them tattooed, for the reasons Ottersatin said...last show I was at, I also had someone pick up my rabbit after judging and almost walk off with him, when I said something they didn't believe me that it was MINE not theirs, until they saw his ear tattoo. Scared the heck outta me, love that rabbit!!!