rabbits wasting hay

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Noobious

Reaction score
Is it normal for rabbits to waste a lot of hay? I'm new to raising rabbits but it seems like I'll fill their hay mangers only to come in a few hours later and find about 1/3 of it on the floor under their cages. Is this normal, or is it a problem with my hay mangers not holding it properly.
Also, I do know that one of my bucks, who is a temperamental little shit head, throws his hay around his cage.

Any suggestions?

Rabbits are wasteful creatures. If I feed them hay cubes, they seem to waste less. Mine waste just as much with hay holders and just throwing the hay in there on the bottom of the cage.
Your buck just sounds bored, like he's playing around

Most rabbits are just messy. For the buck, you could try taking a handful of hay, twisting it, and tying it with twine in the middle. My sisters rabbit loves that, he tosses it around and chews the hay. Or putting hay in a toilet paper tube. He'll still probably mess but he might have fun with it.

Yep.... mine too... thankfully I get hay cheap/free and have my rabbits outdoors so I try to look at the bright side - it's nice ground cover for blocking weeds :lol: . Not sure how your set up is, but could you put a small container under the racks to catch the stuff that falls out? It would have to be anchored, but might save at least some of it. I have started just throwing a handful in the cage - they like to burrow and dig in it.

I noticed mine played with their hay more when bored then when gave something else to chew and throw, I gave them all Maple branches *After making sure it's ok* and the gnaw on them and then toss it around, they think it's absolutely great.