Questions and comments about plant safety for rabbits.

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
You're right, Michael, that moderation is important when feeding a certain plant to rabbits. Moderation and variety are both key.

I generally gather a little or this and a little of that - usually five or six species per feeding. The rabbits do occasionally get a large amount of one plant (such as downed branches of willow after a storm) but since they are fed such a variety most of the time, they can manage these occasional one-dimensional feedings.

Here's a VEGETABLE LIST
I've been using for 9 years (and the minirex bun just went down, but with lung cancer-- so hay + mycotoxins is my next post!)
The water you rinse the greens with helps hydrate, so leave it wet. (Distilled water will help keep kidneys clean and free of buildup.)
I feed a "salad" in the morning along with dry food and fresh water in clean crock, repeat all early in the evening and free feed timothy hay at all times.

Select at least 3 kinds of vegetables daily. I feed all organic.
A variety is necessary in order to obtain the necessary nutrients, with one each day that contains Vitamin A, indicated by ( * ) .

Add one vegetable to the diet at a time. Eliminate if it causes soft stools or diarrhea.

(!)= Use sparingly. [/b]High in either oxalates or goitrogens and may be toxic in accumulated quantities over a period of time.

Also, watch for gas-- espec broccoli and other root vegetables. And feed small amounts!
Not every rabbit likes or tolerates all of these, they will let you know. Watch the poops!-- like reading tea leaves. Very important especially when giving new food. Also the quality of the food makes a big difference.

Alfalfa, radish and clover sprouts
Arugula (!) *
Basil
Beet greens (tops)*
Bok choy
Broccoli (mostly leaves/steams) *
Carrot and carrot tops*
Celery
Cilantro
Clover