Paradox's Bunny Caves for Miss M

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paradox

Reaction score
Miss M asked me to post info on how we did our housing set up so here are some pics and I will do my best to explain without getting too long winded. I am not good at this kind of thing so if anyone has questions just ask. Also we had no clue when we did this that others might want to know how to, so we didn't really take step by step pics.

Basically we wanted our rabbits to be able to get underground for climate control and to make the does feel more secure when kindling and raising their babies. But in Texas you have to worry about snakes and fire ants so running pipes down in the ground into clay pots was not an option. We chose to do it all above ground but still use dirt as insulation. Here is what you need:

Raised flower bed type structures - we made ours with landscape timbers cuz we had lots of them. But you could frame one out with whatever you have laying around or you could probably just mound dirt up without containing it. Get your cages and caves all leveled and where you want them and put in supports for the lid before covering it all up with dirt.

Caves - Inside the structure there are boxes (old ice chests you forgot to throw out or sturdy rubbermade type boxes). Make sure it is big enough for a doe and kits to be comfortable. When does aren't raising babies we keep shavings in the bottom and it makes clean out easier. When babies are coming we just let mom pull hair and make a nest. Occasionally you can hose it out good and shop vac it dry.